Finding my delight in the journey of adoption.

Running for Joy

So, Saturday was the big 5K race.  I did it.  It was hard.  I’m happy that I did it.   So now what?  I started running 6 weeks ago with the goal of being able to run for about 30 minutes.  I can’t tell if I’ve reached my goal.  I mean, I am able to run that long, but it’s not particularly enjoyable.  I like the way I feel afterwards, but I have high hopes of actually liking the way I feel during the run.  It’s kind of like my relationship with God right now.  I know that God exists, that he sent his son to die for me, that I am saved, that’s He’s got my back.  But am I really joyful in the Lord?  I think so at times.  We have been trying to figure out what materials to study in our small group for the next session.  I watched about 10 minutes of John Piper’s DVD study “When I don’t Desire God.  How to Fight for Joy.”   He spoke about trying to get this passion and joy for God.  I think that would be good for me.   I guess the solution is to pray for it.  Prayer is always the solution.  Maybe I should also pray that I will start to enjoy running.

Leave a Reply

