Finding my delight in the journey of adoption.

Happy Birthday Freddy!

Today is Freddy’s third birthday. We celebrated with lunch, cupcakes and gifts with my parents, Laura & Travis. We made some nice videos telling Freddy how much we love and miss him already. My prayer is that this will be his last birthday without us with him (at least until he’s an adult).

We are living in the joy…the reckless joy. We are daydreaming and chatting. We are trying to fight out the fiery darts of doubts and fear that come our way regularly. They come fast and out of the blue. One minute I am daydreaming about bunk beds and the next, I feel sick to my stomach with fear. I repeat – “I will not live in fear,” and it subsides. Christ is my rock and my salvation, of whom shall I be afraid?

Amazing worship service this morning at TMC. Such powerful and heartfelt singing and a rocking sermon on Romans 3:21-26. God doesn’t love us because we are valuable but because GOd loves us, we are valuable (Martin Luther). We learned about how sin is violating God’s glory. Every single moment that we are in idolatry or gossip or mean speak or impure thoughts – those aren’t just bad for us or or others, but they are sins against God. Whoa. Must remember that. He is so merciful though. While we were dead in our sins, Christ died for us. It is heavy. It is real. It is beautiful.

Finally, another praise! Yesterday I stumbled on the blog – http://everybitterthingissweet.com/. Showed their video of their girls from Uganda to my husband, and low and behold, the dad is my husband’s fraternity brother! They haven’t spoken since college, but they were rather close. We are so excited to reconnet with them and learn from them. God is so good to us!

Leave a Reply

