Finding my delight in the journey of adoption.

Why adoption?

I want to take a few posts to document how we got to this point.  So, today, the topic is “Why are we adopting?”

The simple answer is obedience.  God has called us to grow our family through adoption.  Last summer, I was stuck on a plane coming back from St. Louis, and I read Russell Moore’s Adopted for Lifehttp://www.amazon.com/Adopted-Life-Priority-Adoption-Christian/dp/1581349114  The premise is that adoption is a priority for Christian families.  Bill & I believe this wholeheartedly for a few reasons: (1) as Americans today, we live the wealthiest, most privileged life that any human being ever has; (2) God commands (He doesn’t ask) that we care for the poor, orphans, widows, etc. (i.e., it’s not optional); (3) adoption is a beautiful picture of God’s relationship with his people – he adopts us (dead sinners) into complete fellowship and relationship with him; and (4) if we, as God’s chosen, redeemed people, don’t adopt orphans, who on earth will?

When I read this book, I was overcome.  There’s not been a day since that I haven’t thought about adoption.  Prior to reading it, we had of course begun to discuss the idea and were already loosely “planning” on adopting, but through reading this book, the Spirit pushed us over the edge into realizing that it was a direct command from Him.  We have no choice but to obey.

Of course, God has used our circumstances to get us here.  He allowed me to be barren because He has bigger plans that he knew we wouldn’t pursue without being infertile.  He continues to break down our idols – like our desires to have a perfect family full of kids who look like us, successful lucrative careers, a big beautiful home and fancy cars.  Of course, He’s even blessed us with some of those things, but He’s turning our focus to Jesus instead.

Now, as I gaze upon the faces in the photos, I am overcome with gratitude.  What an honor to play a part in God’s plan.  Is it really true that I ge tthe privilege of mothering these two beautiful, perfect children?  I see the Father’s love.  I am learning His heart.  Yes, that’s why adoption – because it gives my Father glory and pleases Him.  And that’s all that matters.  I am just blessed to be along for the ride.

Leave a Reply

