Finding my delight in the journey of adoption.

Thanksgiving

I am so thankful – for too many things to count. This morning I was particularly thankful that God totally answered one of my desperate prayers, and I didn’t even realize it. When we were struggling through infertility treatments, for years I prayed that God would end it all. I didn’t often pray that God would give us a baby – most of the time I felt pretty clear that it wasn’t Gods plan (that’s a whole other blog post). I would beg God that the process would end. I didn’t want to go to any more doctor visits, no more hopes dashed every 30 days, no more anxious waiting. I just. wanted. it. to. stop. This morning, I realized that it did! It’s OVER. God delivered me through an incredibly difficult valley, with just a few scars to show for it.

This morning I heard on the radio that we should thank God for the prayers he answered in a way that was different from what we asked. At the time, I assumed that God would end the pain by giving us a baby. Instead, God ended the pain by showing us his love for us and by giving us a new vision for our lives. Now, we wait in hope for the day where we will be united with two beautiful children from a faraway land. It will be a fairytale ending from a very real God!

Leave a Reply

