Finding my delight in the journey of adoption.

Happy Birthday Carolyn!

Yesterday was Carolyn’s birthday, and it was a hard day. I am very discouraged at the moment. We haven’t heard anything in about a month, and with the elections in DRC, I am definitely nervous.

I was pondering this morning about what Carolyn thinks about her future right now (to the extent that she does). She has NO IDEA what is coming. She couldn’t possibly fathom life in America, life with a new extensive (rich white) family. She may be discouraged or sad right now, wondering what will become of her and her little brother. And yet, here we are, far away, planning her future, dreaming about what her life can be.

I was struck by the realization that this is how God sees us. He sees us discouraged, worried, anxious about the future, and he knows exactly what’s coming. He sees a bright, full, exciting future even though we can’t. He’s planning big plans for us. We can’t possible dream up or fathom what God has in store for our lives.

What a comforting thought! If I could see my future, I would be psyched. I know my God loves me, knew me before the world began and has big plans for my life. I have no reason to fear. If I only had faith…

2 responses

  1. Anonymous

    What great insight!

    December 18, 2011 at 7:06 pm

  2. Anonymous

    Great insight! I needed to hear this.

    December 18, 2011 at 7:11 pm

Leave a Reply

