Finding my delight in the journey of adoption.

Why Blogging?

So why am I blogging this journey? It’s a question I ask myself a lot these days. It does seem terribly self-involved and not really in line with my personality. So, here are the four reasons (in no particular order).

1. I love other people’s blogs. I read them every day and find tremendous joy from hearing the stories of others. While I realize that it’s a little silly, I follow the stories of people and learn from their experiences. I started reading blogs when we began struggling through infertility. I found a community of other people having similar experiences as I was, and it was a great comfort. It gave me opportunities to laugh and cry at the absurdity of it all in a way I couldn’t do with my friends and family who couldn’t really understand exactly what I was going through. I mourned with the losses of others and rejoiced at their good news. Now, I follow adoption blogs.

2. I want to remember this time. I want a journal of the thoughts, feelings, memories of this time. I want to be able to really tell the kids what was going on with me and how I felt as I prepared for their arrival.

3. I want to keep folks updated on the process. I know that people want to know what’s going on, but don’t always want to ask. I also hope to share photos and stories of when we bring the kids home.

4. Finally, my new year’s resolution for 2012 is to live out loud. I want to fight against my natural tendency to want to keep everything private and only share what I think will make me look good. It’s sinful and dishonest. I am a real person with real struggles and failings, and if anyone thinks I have it all together, then I apologize for lying to you. I want more honesty in my life. The purpose of life is to glorify God, not myself, and I am hoping to put that in practice.

Leave a Reply

