Finding my delight in the journey of adoption.

Trust

This Sunday, Pastor Lutzer preached on trusting God – transferring our burdens to him. He spoke about how we often ask God to help us, but we don’t actually let him or want him to take the burdens. We hold on to these things as if our life depended on them. They define us, and as much as we say we want them to go away, we can’t let go. Change is too scary.

We are about to start a seven month fast in seven areas of excess in our life. (Check out 7 by Jen Hatmaker –
http://jenhatmaker.com/blog/2011/12/26/an-experimental-mutiny-against-excess.) Seven areas where we have gone overboard. We are going to try and cut out excess to make room for God. It’s absolutely terrifying to think about having less. Don’t I need everything I have? How can I love without these things? I have been praying that God would glorify himself at my expense. I’ve been praying for radical change in my life. Now it’s time to put my money where my mouth is. If I really want God to work in my life, I have to let go of the death grip. It’s only through the Holy Spirit that I can. I am so excited!

Leave a Reply

