Finding my delight in the journey of adoption.

Excess: Let the Mutiny Begin!

Our household is going to do 2012 differently. My 2011 motto was: “I’m considering the possibility that I’ve been wrong about
everything.” 2012 is “I was wrong about everything, so let’s get right.” The wrong we are tackling is that I thought Christianity was about living a happy, comfortable life with a little Jesus tossed in to top it off. WRONG. So. very. wrong.

Enter 7. (http://www.amazon.com/7-Experimental-Mutiny-Against-Excess/dp/1433672960/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1328048327&sr=8-1) An experimental mutiny against excess. We have too much. Period. We have so much, and I want more. When life gets tough, I don’t want Jesus. I want a latte…or a pedicure…or a new book…or a fancy dinner…and the list goes on and on. For months, the Holy Spirit has been revealing this darkness inside of me, and I’m ready for some light!

This month, we (and a few other couples from church) are starting the mutiny. 7 foods for 30 days. Only water to drink, and we are praying that God will reveal our sin and redirect our desires. We want repentance and a new heart. We want to break addictions and reveal this stuff for what it is – just stuff. And we want to desire Jesus more that chocolate. I am trusting that Jesus will show me how much better he satisfies. It’s not easy, and the Devil is bringing strife and temptations around every corner, but it’s a worthy quest. I desperately want the blinders to come off so I can see life for what it is – an opportunity to glorify God.

One response

  1. I love the concept. Not sure I could implement it myself, but props to those who do!

    February 8, 2012 at 8:16 pm

Leave a Reply

