Finding my delight in the journey of adoption.

30

This weekend I turned 30. We celebrated with food, friends, family and presents.  It was a lovely weekend.  It’s hard for me to believe that I am 30 years old.  I don’t feel like an adult.  I still dress like I did in college and still haven’t figured out how to actually style my hair.  I wear jeans and a t-shirt most of the time.  I don’t own bedroom furniture.  I still rent an apartment.

Yet, I am aging.  Time is passing.  Life is short.  It spurs me on to continue on this crazy ride.  I am moe aware today than ever that my life is just a vapor. “yet you do not know what tomorrow will bring. What is your life? For you are a mist that appears for a little time and then vanishes.”  (James 4:14 ESV)  We are only here for a limited time, and most of us will be forgotten within two generations.  (can you name anything about your great-great grandparents?)  This is not depressing – it’s encouraging.  Why not live boldly and radically now?  What do we have to lose?  It’s Satan that convinces us that our life is worth anything at all.

Francis Chan says “Our greatest fear should not be of failure but of succeeding at things in life that don’t really matter.”  How true!  I spend almost all of my time on things that don’t matter in the slightest.  I want to change that.  The only thing that matters is God’s glory, so that’s what my life should be about. Better get cracking…time is running out!

The grass withers, the flower fades,
but the word of our God will stand forever.
(Isaiah 40:8 ESV)

One response

  1. joann

    Love this! Well put!

    March 7, 2012 at 6:04 pm

Leave a Reply

