Finding my delight in the journey of adoption.

Update

We received the last court document for Carolyn and Freddy (the certificate of non-appeal), so the visa application will be mailed to our agency tomorrow. This starts the clock on the last 1/3 of this never-ending process. The visas are the last documents we need before we can travel.

In the meantime, I am caught between a desire to start preparing (by buying stuff, decorating, etc.) and yet, completely incapable of doing so. First, I can’t imagine that it’s really going to happen, and second, I have no idea where to start. I started last week on Pinterest. That definitely helped! I found a lot of cute ideas for their room. I can’t really buy any clothes because I have no idea about their sizes. I’m hoping to take some hand-me-downs from my in-laws in various sizes for Freddy, and I’m trying to find someone with a 6-7 year old daughter to do the same for Carolyn. Otherwise, we can always buy a few items when we get there.

I don’t think we are going to purchase many toys/activities yet. We are still trying to decide our "rules." We are absolutely dreading the accumulation of stuff, and we have extremely strong feelings about the types of toys/activities that are acceptable. For instance, plastic junk is a no. Disney and other character-based toys are an even bigger no. Electronics, definitely nope. Gender-specific toys, no thanks.

Then, there’s the actual amount of stuff. The average American child receives 70 new toys per year. (http://debbieroome.suite101.com/childrens-toys-and-the-influence-of-advertising-and-the-media-a238203) Yes, you read that right – 70 A YEAR! That’s insane. That’s more than 1 toy a week! And that’s average. As an upper class American, the number is probably so much higher. That is so.not.happening in my house.

I know, you are all laughing at me. You are saying, "good luck lady, people are going to be buying you stuff all the time." You are right, but I don’t have to keep it. My husband feels a great need to use or keep gifts that he gets. I do not have that gene. I am my mother’s daughter. My mother hates most gifts she gets and would not have any problem returning everything. She returned a puppy because it was the wrong color. Not kidding. Also, if you know how we feel about stuff, you are buying at your own risk.

April is also purge month for 7, so we aren’t going to be adding stuff any time soon when we are cutting loose 7 items a day! We couldn’t be more excited about this month. Seven items a day is not going to be hard. Between books, dishes, and clothes, we can probably sail through, but we even have big ticket items that we are getting rid of – including the TV and DVD player. Freedom is coming!

4 responses

  1. joann

    Hahahahahah! I am obviously a big fan of this one! 😀

    March 28, 2012 at 7:44 pm

  2. Anonymous

    Do weapons count?

    March 30, 2012 at 4:14 pm

  3. David Alo

    Do weapons count??? He! He! I am serios though!!!

    March 30, 2012 at 4:16 pm

  4. do weapons count or camo????

    March 30, 2012 at 4:17 pm

Leave a Reply

