Finding my delight in the journey of adoption.

Qualifications

First off, why are there no “daddy wars?”

Second, I have been thinking a lot about what the heck I can do with these kids when they get here.  SAHM mom or not, you still have a lot of hours of teaching, playing and entertaining.  All of my mom-friends are so talented.  They are crafty, they knit, they make things on Pinterest, they make homemade paint, they can draw things like trees and dogs, they can plan birthday parties with a theme.  And, all with a smile and make-up on.  I can’t do any of that with no kids.  I set out on Saturday morning to clean the bathroom, and as of right now (Sunday night), it’s not clean.

I have friends who make 7 layer rainbow cakes (well, one friend) and plan on their meals for the week on Sundays.   I can only make an elaborate dish or fancy dessert if the following conditions are present:  1) I am not hungry; 2) I have five hours of uninterrupted free time; and 3) people are coming over.  Otherwise, I make grilled cheese or ice cream.

I have friends who create “sensory trays” and knit.  They make up games and create dioramas.  I am not crafty or creative.  In the first grade, Sister Donna Marie held my coloring up as an example to the class about how not to color.  In the fifth grade, Sister Bernadin (these nuns were tough) gave me a D.  On a drawing.  Of a tree.  The only creative things I do are writing witty Facebook statuses (from Saturday –  “when I go out in public in sweatpants, I always wear my NU Law sweatshirt so people know that I can apply myself when necessary”) and changing the lyrics of songs to be absurd (“Our God is greater.  Awesome at soccer.  God you are faster and cooler and smarter”) or otherwise borderline vulgar (example omitted).  Neither of those talents will be helpful in parenting.

Are there classes on these things?  Is there a “mothering for dummies” out there?  How do you knit?  What do you knit?  (Why do you knit?)  These kids better come with some ideas.

5 responses

  1. joann

    Oh my gosh!! You are perfect! You are in the same predicament as Gideon, Moses, Jeremiah, Esther…there are so many. The Lord came to them, and they said, “Me? Why me? How? Do you know where I come from? I got nothin.”

    Judg 6:14-15
    Then the Lord turned to him and said,”Go in this might of yours, and you shall save Israel from the hand of the Midianites. Have I not sent you?”
    So he said to Him, “O my Lord, how can I save Israel? Indeed my clan is the weakest in Manasseh, and I am the least in my father’s house.”

    Ex 4:10-12
    Then Moses said to the Lord, “O my Lord, I am not eloquent, neither before nor since You have spoken to Your servant; but I am slow of speech and slow of tongue.”
    So the Lord said to him,”Who has made man’s mouth? Or who makes the mute, the deaf, the seeing, or the blind? Have not I, the Lord? Now therefore, go, and I will be with your mouth and teach you what you shall say.”

    This way…you will not be able to boast. All your honor and praises will be given to the Lord.

    God has chosen the weak things of the world to put to share the things which are mighty.

    April 23, 2012 at 8:27 am

  2. Jenny

    Ok, I came to reply with a note of encouragement and saw that Joann has an awesome perspective on this…so first let me wholeheartedly agree with her.

    And since I am really much better at sharing other people’s thoughts than writing my own, I hope this also offers some encouragement: http://powerofmoms.com/2012/04/your-children-want-you/

    April 23, 2012 at 5:03 pm

    • So true Jenny! Thanks for sharing.

      May 2, 2012 at 5:03 pm

  3. Laura

    Amanda, you are hilarious. you will be an awesome mom. you mothered your sisters since the day we were born…..and we turned out ok…..kinda….

    April 23, 2012 at 8:45 pm

  4. I just randomly found your blog following blogs on adoption, and those things ARE WONDERFULLY TRUE! Your kids will not care if you are crafty or not, or if you can menu plan or not (so long as you feed them food they like to eat that is).

    Having said that….. Here are some suggestions:
    -START PRACTICING: find things that looks simple and fun on Pinterest and start doing them as gits. Go to a craft store (I highly recommend Hobby Lobby) and wander around and just LOOK at things for a while. If this is your first time, leave your wallet outside of the store, so impulse buying is not a problem. Find a friend to teach you how to knit or crochet in your spare time (ha!).
    -Pinterest is seriously your BEST FRIEND when it comes to ideas. Want to plan a fun birthday party? search for whatever the theme you want is. Or just search for birthday parties. Then copy someone else’s.
    -Moneysavingmom.com is a GREAT resource for menu planning, kids activities, yummy time saving recipes, etc….
    -read to them. In English. a lot.
    -This may be superfluous, based on the above comment, but there’s always babysitting other people’s kids to practice for when they time. Might give you opportunity to hone some management skills, and build up some brownie points with your friends for when you’re going to need them.

    May 8, 2012 at 12:22 am

Leave a Reply

