Finding my delight in the journey of adoption.

Marriage, Possessions, and Melvin the Bird

We have a bird that sings all day long outside our window. We’ve named him Melvin. Giving him a names helps up from being annoyed (sort of).

This weekend we attended a marriage retreat with the couples from our Sunday school class. God truly blessed that time. We left on Friday afternoon and headed up to Lake Geneva. The speakers for the weekend were Peter and Kelli Worrall. They are a married couple with two beautiful children who joined their family through adoption (fun!). They spoke on Sexual Intimacy and taught the book of Song of Songs. Their teachings on the role of sexual intimacy in marriage were revolutionary to me. They had such a great way of handling difficult issues. My favorite point that they made was that the purpose of sexual intimacy is not the act itself but to reveal yourself to your spouse. Love it!

We finished up the possessions fast yesterday with a grand total of 312 items purged. Our house looks the same (except a few empty bookshelves), but I feel a little bit of lightness. I learned that it’s hard to give up stuff even when I am not using it. I am really worried about whether the person receiving it will use it in the right way, which is ironic since it’s been sitting on a shelf for the past two years gathering dust.

Today we started the media fast. Essentially, I will be experiencing no forms of extra media this month. No TV, movies, music, radio, blogs, Facebook, internet surfing, etc. I am still using personal email, and I am still blogging since my fans (hi Mom!) would miss me if I stopped. Today was HARD. I kept picking up my cellphone and just staring at it wondering if anyone posted cute pics of their kids on FB and whether there were any hilarious YouTube videos I was missing. I also have no idea what happened in the world today. What hilarious thing did Biden say today? How many shootings in Chicago last night? I need to know!

In other news, I called USCIS on Friday for a status on our applications. They are “in process.” Ugh. I will now begin stalking them. Our caseworker says that Katie (we finally decided on our oldest girl’s name) should be out of court in the next week or so. Praying that happens and that documents will be forthcoming.

Finally, I am heading to the Orphan Summit tomorrow in Orange County, CA. I cannot wait! I will be blogging while I am gone. Some of my fav bloggers are going to be there! I am leaving extra room in my suitcase for all the books and t-shirts I plan to buy.

3 responses

  1. Jen Lee

    Hey Amanda! Not sure if you are checking your comments, but I’ll leave one anyway. 🙂 We went to the Orphan Summit last year. Too bad we weren’t going this year and could connect that way. Maybe in the future!

    May 1, 2012 at 7:18 pm

    • Bummer we will miss each other! I am so excited to learn so much, and I plan to blog all about it.

      May 2, 2012 at 5:02 pm

  2. joann

    Yay! (Fasting from blogging isn’t fair to your fans, ya know.)

    May 1, 2012 at 7:39 pm

Leave a Reply

