Finding my delight in the journey of adoption.

Absurdity

So I have been going to various doctors since October for stomach issues. According to each one, apparently all young female professionals have stomach problems, especially lawyers. Thus, stress appears to be the culprit. Is there such thing as a non-stressed person? I don’t think so. If you know one, I would like to meet him. Yes, he would have to be a man. Probably a bachelor who still lives with his parents.

The latest doc specializes in holistic health, trying acupuncture, herbs, supplements, etc. to resolve and get the root of the issues. Most of her clients fall into the anxious/stressed category so she does a whole interview with you about your life. We went through my history, and she was describing that the intersection of marriage, law school, big firm, infertility, family health issues, and adoption are largely the stressors that have affected me. No big shock there, but as she was listing everything off, I started to think it was sounding pretty absurd. My life has been a little nutso over the past 5 years or so. As we were discussing a plan of action, the doctor mentioned the stress I would experience when the adoption was final and we brought “the baby” home. At that moment, I reached a decision point- tell her the truth or nod and smile. I chose to nod and smile. I couldn’t do it. I couldn’t tell her that not only are we not adopting a baby, but we are adopting THREE full-grown children. I was sure she would push me out the door and say there was nothing she could do to help me because she doesn’t treat mental illness.

3 responses

  1. joann

    Do you remember texting me before this appointment? You asked, “Anything I should know?” I was going to tell you, “Be honest. Don’t hold back.” (Ironic.)

    May 2, 2012 at 2:51 pm

  2. Every ailment I have ever had has been “related to stress’…I dunno, sounds just too simple.

    May 3, 2012 at 6:04 am

Leave a Reply

