Finding my delight in the journey of adoption.

The Body

While in some ways, my heart has been broken over the past few weeks hearing about more and more delays (even more this week…), my heart has also been bursting from all the love and support from my readers, friends and family.  I am so thankful for you!

From your comments, to your FB messages, text messages, emails, phone calls, and in-person (imagine that!) chats, I can really feel the love of God at a time when I often feel that he is far away and has forgotten me.  What a blessing to be surrounded by such support.  These kids (who may be adults by the time they come home) will be so blessed by you all as well.

A friend from church stopped me on Sunday to say that she had been reading our story and praying for us.  It was so great to see her, to know that she knows our struggles and is moved to actually pray for us.

I don’t know why God created the world in the way that he did, to commission us to be his hands and feet.  I don’t know why he has chosen to give such responsibility to us humans.  We are so flawed, and this responsibility results in so much pain and evil in the world.  But, when it works, when we really do it, it’s so beautiful.

When I receive a text from a dear friend saying that she’s praying a specific prayer for me, it’s literally as if God sent it himself.  That’s how it feels.  Knowing that the same Spirit that lives in me, lives in her, and connects us to each other in a supernatural way.  I have a daily reminder in my calendar to pray for a certain friend going through a difficult time.  When I hear progress from her, I am so honored to think that God gave ME a role in his work.

More and more I am seeing how we are the body.  “So we, though many, are one body in Christ, and individually members one of another.” Rom. 12:5

____________________________

These past weeks have been tough, but I have been drowning my sorrows in a delectable book – The Sunne of Splendour by Sharon Kay Penman.  It’s pure candy if you are lover of all things medieval and historical fiction.  It’s the story of Richard III – full of intrigue, betrayal, war, scandal, and of course, some juicy love affairs.  I actually learned about this author from another blog long ago, and this is the fourth book of hers I read.  I think it’s fair to say that they have changed my life.  🙂

 

Leave a Reply

