Finding my delight in the journey of adoption.

About me – the high school years

I’ll spare you the dramatics, but as you probably guessed, I was [am] quite the drama queen.

After graduating from a class of 16 people who spent 8 years together, I went on to the local Catholic high school about 20 miles from where I grew up.  It was a little shocking to be in such a large group, able to define myself in a new way outside of my previous small-town experience.  It didn’t take long for me to find my place in the group of overachieving, rather dorky people.

The single scariest moment of high school is when you realize that not three weeks after you arrive, people start talking about the Homecoming Dance. [ Side note:  I was not usually allowed to go to dances in junior high.  The one dance that I was permitted to attend, my parents forbid me to  slow dance, and I have always been a rule follower.  When I came home and told them that my friend asked me to dance but that I dutifully said no,  they replied, “oh you could have danced with HIM!”  Awesome.  Thanks. ]  At that time, my high school did not allow you attend dances without a date.  You couldn’t just attend with friends.  You had to have a date, and the date had to be of the opposite gender.  A seemingly impossible task, if you ask me.  I’ll spare you the details, but to my own shock, I did get asked to the dance.  By a boy.  Who was not blind or otherwise impaired.  It was the first of many awkward dances in my high school career, but I had a date, and therefore, I would not have to beg my parents to move.

My high school was all about sports.  Midwestern Catholics take their sports seriously, especially football.  Our school existed to support the football program.  If you didn’t/couldn’t play football, any other normal sport would do.  After one and a half seasons of unsuccessful attempts at being athletic, I resigned from sports and got into drama.  I had always loved to sing and perform and planned to become a famous movie star when I grew up.  I had a lot of fun acting and singing in our rather small and pathetic performances.  My sophomore year, I was Dorothy in the Wizard of Oz.  We performed on a wooden make-shift stage in the small gym (because the actual stage was used for wrestling practice, obviously).  During the Jitterbug, the stage caved in; however, my ability to continue singing and dancing while climbing out of the hole was most definitely Oscar-worthy.

The one thing I could never accomplish in high school was being cool.  (what? singing, good grades and clothes from JC Penny don’t make you cool?)  I so wanted to be cool.  I would see the girls in A&F sweaters on the pom squad and just couldn’t figure out why they didn’t want to be my friends.  (could have been how quickly I would raise my hand in class volunteering to do extra credit problems.)  I mostly just wanted to have their cute boyfriends as I was quite boy crazy in high school as well.  Alas, I never found the secret to being cool.  I am still not cool.  My wardrobe is still lacking, and I never have figured out how to do my hair.  I still say obnoxiously know-it-all things.  BUT, I did end up with a very cute boyfriend who only gets better looking with age.  Those stories will have to wait until the next installment….

8 responses

  1. joann

    Love it!!

    July 16, 2012 at 12:55 pm

  2. You are an amazing writer! Who isn’t awkward in high school 🙂

    July 16, 2012 at 3:35 pm

    • So true! Thanks for reading.

      July 16, 2012 at 3:39 pm

  3. Jane

    The next installment had better be soon! How old were you when you learned to tease?

    July 16, 2012 at 7:09 pm

  4. Roxana

    Hi Amanda,
    So, I feel a little awkward about commenting since I don’t think we’ve officially met. However, Bill did e-mail me your blog when I was harassing him (and you, by proxy) about VBS. I have been reading it, and thoroughly enjoying it, for quite some time now. Thank you for your eloquent transparency and for not mincing words. It’s so refreshing! Your desire to honor the Lord with your life, and to “delight” in Him, has been an encouragement to me in so many ways. Thank you! Oh, and thank you for being hilarious, too 🙂

    July 16, 2012 at 9:25 pm

    • Thanks Roxana! Appreciate your comments and glad you are enjoying it.

      July 17, 2012 at 8:28 am

  5. Marie S.

    Love it! That reminds me of my high school years…

    July 16, 2012 at 11:21 pm

  6. Ha! That’s funny. I forgot about it too. No worries!

    July 17, 2012 at 3:33 pm

Leave a Reply

