Finding my delight in the journey of adoption.

Media Fast

One of my favorite months of the Seven fast was the media fast.  It was hard.  I am pretty addicted to media – tv, music, blogs, Facebook.  I don’t like to think that I am.  I like to think that I a purist and above getting sucked into media, but it’s all false.  It was a great experience to detox and have to quiet my mind and thoughts.

Our pastor gave us a challenge this week to detox from media for three days this week, and I’m excited to accept it!  I really need this right now.  Since I’ve been away from work, I spend a lot more time on the internet and watch a lot more tv.  With Baby Bean’s coming arrival and a few other decisions about the upcoming year on the horizon, a fast is absolutely right for me.   I need to hear from God right now.  I need the quiet of my mind so that He can speak to me and prepare my heart for this transition. 

I’ll be back on Thursday!

One response

  1. Anonymous

    Luke 5:15-16
    However, the report went around concerning Him all the more; and great multitudes came together to hear, and to be healed by Him of their infirmities. So He Himself often withdrew into the wilderness and prayed.

    I think that most of the time I am under the impression that “much” is not required of me. False. I need to follow in my Father’s footsteps.

    January 6, 2013 at 4:00 pm

Leave a Reply

